Program Development and Survey Statistics

I am one of the occupational therapy (OT) graduate students working on the exhibits at the OT Center in Second Life (SL). I also am doing my Masters research paper on program development in SL. Through my literature review, I have found that virtual reality is emerging as a new venue in the educational arena through the use of this virtual world called SL. The purpose of my study is to develop and evaluate a program within Second Life, to educate teachers and the public about occupational therapy, and to form collaborative relationships with other educators in this virtual environment.

I have begun collecting and analyzing survey data from our latest exhibit on Stroke Awareness. Since our exhibit opened 8 days ago, I have collected 21 surveys from avatars (online personas) who have willingly agreed to partake in the survey after visiting the interactive display. The preliminary data is as follows:

60% said they would return to the Center, 25% said maybe, and 15% said no.

86% said the information clarified something, 5% said maybe, and 9% said no.

95% rated the display as super or good and 5% rated it ok.

My time in SL has been an interesting one. I am still a “newbie”. I have been in SL for about 5 months so far. There is so much to learn and explore. There are many opportunities to meet people to collaborate with and technologies to use to make learning fun! Hope to see you at the OT Center soon!!

Leave a Reply

